Adams Prize for Musical Theatre

Adams Prize

Update on Fringe 2021 Applications and COVID-19

Want your new musical to be the next Come From Away? This prize is a great way to have your work showcased to a wider audience.

What it is: Sponsored by the Pat and Tony Adams Freedom Fund for the Arts, this is a contest for composers/playwrights that guarantees the winner a free spot in the Toronto Fringe Festival, as well as provides a bursary of $3,500.

Who it’s for: Permanent residents of Canada who have written a new musical that has not been previously produced.

Applications: Will not be accepted in 2021. Participants from the 2020 festival have deferred their slots to 2021 and will get a chance to produce their work this coming year. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Cost to apply: $35 reading fee.

Terms & Conditions:
1. Open to all playwrights/composers who are permanent residents of Canada.
2. All entries must be original, unproduced musicals. Musicals that have been workshopped are eligible.
3. All Musicals must have a performance time of 90 minutes or less.
4. Playwrights/Composers who enter the contest may also enter the Fringe lottery.
5. If successful, the winner must produce the musical that was submitted to the contest in the Toronto Fringe Festival. It is understood that the musical will be subject to revisions/dramaturgical changes in the usual course of continued development.
6. The winning production will also be required to recognize the Toronto Fringe on all their marketing materials (program, posters, brochures, press release, website, etc). Specific details of this recognition to follow.

How to Apply: Applications are closed for 2021. Please try again next year.

The Toronto Fringe is committed to equality, diversity, and prioritizing accessibility. We warmly encourage applications from Black, Indigenous, and People of Colour communities, 2SLGBTQ+ identified persons as well as Deaf, Mad and disability-identified persons. If you require any accommodations please do not hesitate to contact 

Past winners include: "The Break-Up Diet" by Tamara Williamson (2019), "The Preposterous Predicament of Polly Peel" by Kevin Wong and Julie Tepperman (2018), "Seeking Refuge" by Rick Jones (2017), "Life After" by Britta Johnson (2016). Previously called the Paul O’Sullivan Prize.